Do Not Save Web Browser History

There are different ways of disabling browser history. You can either temporarily disable or permanent disable it. This goes for most browser. Go into the Tools or Settings and find the privacy tab and find Clear Browsing Data or Delete Browser History.

Internet Explorer you can use the shortcut: Ctrl + Shift + Del

Safari: Go to the tab History and select Clear History

Chrome: Go to Tools -> Settings -> Under the hood -> Clear browsing data

Opera: Press the alt button, select Settings -> Preferences -> Advanced -> History -> Clear and Empty Now.

Firefox: Select Tools -> options -> Private -> Clear History

All the popular browser support private mode which temporally do not save your web browser history. Each browser has it’s own word for it. Private browsing, Incognito, Privacy Mode, InPrivate Browsing and Private Tab.

Chrome is calling it Incognito and can be open with Ctrl + Shift + N. In Firefox select the orange firefox label in the top left corner and select “Start Private Browsing”.

When opening a tab in private mode a page is showing something similar to this quote from Chrome: “You’ve gone incognito. Pages you view in this window won’t appear in your browser history or search history, and they won’t leave other traces, like cookies, on your computer after you close all open incognito windows. Any files you download or bookmarks you create will be preserved, however. Going incognito doesn’t affect the behavior of other people, servers, or software. Be wary of:

  • Websites that collect or share information about you
  • Internet service providers or employers that track the pages you visit
  • Malicious software that tracks your keystrokes in exchange for free smileys
  • Surveillance by secret agents
  • People standing behind you

Posted in Linux, Mac, Windows Tagged with: , , , , , ,